Day 188 – Natural History Museum

Having settled myself down at the table on Wednesday, I started sorting out my goals for the rest of the year and carrying forward to 2013. My aim is to try and bring 12 things into/back into my life that I enjoy. I’ve set up a page on my blog so that I can keep an eye on how I am doing and it also makes me accountable, as it’s out there for all to see.

With that in mind, number 4 on my list (Tired of London, Tired of Life – author Tom Jones) I took my first recommend visit from the book.

31 October

MEET THE SCIENTISTS AT THE NATURAL HISTORY MUSEUM’S COCOON.

The book says and I quote

“The Cocoon at the Natural History Museum is a unique exhibit, offering visitors the opportunity not only to learn about the team of scientists working within the Museum’s Darwin Centre, but also to meet and interact with them, witnessing real specimens they are working on, and finding out about genuine scientific discoveries being made.

Opened in 2009, the Cocoon is at the centre of the new £78 million Darwin Centre, offsetting the clinical laboratories with a 200 foot-high polished plaster structure which is filled with interactive exhibits to explain nature simply to non-scientists, including real-life caged scientists.”

I have to say that the Darwin Centre is everything and more that the book reports, however, what the book doesn’t tell you, is that the Natural History Museum itself, is the most amazing building, with no detail too small for the visiting public.  When this building was erected, by the Victorian architect ‘Alfred Waterhouse’ he used terra-cotta for hard wearing surface materials, and it still stands to tell the tests of time.

I have attached a few photo’s for your perusal, however, they are of the building rather than what the building contains.  I do hope you enjoy.

4 thoughts on “Day 188 – Natural History Museum

  1. Goal setting! What a great idea. I should totally sit down and do that for 2013. Question for you. Do you goal set every year and complete the majority of your goals? Do you maintain a bucket list as well?

    • Hi, last year was my first year of really doing goal setting, before that I always did new year resolutions, which by Feb I’d given up on. I managed to complete 3 of my goals last year which is more than I’ve ever done before. For me the advantage of Goal setting,is I don’t fail, I just keep trying, and find I’m further down the road. This is the first year of starting one a month, instead of having them there all in one go.

      I do have a bucket list, however, it’s present state is a collection of mind maps, which I hope to have more focus on by this time next year.

      How about yourself? Do you make resolutions, or do you have a different method? How does your bucket list stand at the moment? Thank you for your comment.

      • LOL. I’ve never done goal-setting because I would be done by February as well. I’ve also never had a bucket list. I thought about it, but it seems like a lot of work, to be honest.

        My wife has always made us do long-term planning – where do we want to be in 5-years, 10-years and 15-years. I thought it was hokey but we’ve been married 11 years and so far most of it has come true which I credit to her, certainly not me.

        I think you inspired me to try again this year… If so, I’ll blog it. 🙂

      • I think you’re right, bucket list are a lot of work, but once you’ve done it, you just need to keep it up to date lol, mind you I’ve used it as a hint for my husband as ideas for birthdays and big anniversaries.

        Wow you wife sounds like a very organised and focused lady. I’d love to be that organised.

        I look forward to reading a blog about your goals 🙂

Leave a Reply

