Great Excitement – Week 1 #01, #02, #03

Morning 🙂

Oh, it’s been very dark grey drizzly morning in this neck of the woods, although here in ‘The Little Patch of Heaven’ all is quite rosy.

Today is No 1 sons 19th Birthday and we have just had a lovely weekend celebrating, really was a shame to have to go to work this morning, however, I was very enthusiastic to return home this afternoon to carry on with my new challenge.

Let me explain.  Last week whilst enjoying an over sized cup of coffee and a rather lovely piece of fruit cake I took the opportunity to browse through a couple of the blogs I like to frequent – this can sometimes turn into a bit of a marathon as I have been known to lose an hour or three this way.

Whilst reading ‘The Little Room of Rachell’ (www.thelittleroomofrachell.wordpress.com ) my curiosity was jabbed by the mention of a crochet challenge.  Rachell had a book of 200 crochet blocks by Jan Eaton and had set the challenge for herself to crochet all 200 blocks over the coming year (Rachell started in September 2012) The plan is to complete between 2 or 3 blocks each week, discuss the progress and show the completed blocks, she then sent out the challenge to her readers to join her.   As ‘The Little Room of Rachell’ had already completed over 5 months of the challenge, I felt that I wouldn’t be able to join them, however, Rachell assured me that anyone can join in at anytime and was always welcome.  So with that in mind I ordered the book on Wednesday and by Friday early evening I was sitting on the settee flicking longingly through the pages.  With a little bit of arm twisting ‘Please Sir’ drove us to our nearest Hobbycraft (thank god they didn’t close till 8) The plan was for me to purchase 9 balls of different colour wool to get me started nevertheless, I found it very difficult to make the final decision and ended up bring home 15 balls wool and a lot more besides.   Oops!!!

New Crochet book ready for the challenge

New Crochet book ready for the challenge

15 Balls of Loveliness

15 Balls of Loveliness

Never being a person who liked waiting I started as soon as we returned home and completed my first set of 3 blocks by Sunday.   I have this afternoon started the 2 batch.

 

#01 Triangle Strips

#01 Triangle Strips

#02 Tiny Textures

#02 Tiny Textures

#03 Square Target

#03 Square Target

Group Shot

Group Shot

If anyone fancies joining in just let me know and we can crochet together alongside Rachell and her readers.

Must dash, I can hear the call of the crochet hook.

Have a lovely evening

Speak tomorrow

 

Sam xxxx

8 thoughts on “Great Excitement – Week 1 #01, #02, #03

  1. Pingback: CAL bloggers | The Little Room of Rachell

  2. Pingback: Week 26: CAL BLocks #76 #77 #78 | The Little Room of Rachell

Leave a Reply

