Spring Day

Morning 🙂

I love days when I’ve got time to just go off and explore.

With a chill in the air and the early morning sun already cracking the flags; handbag on my shoulder and jacket slung over my back, contented in the knowledge that the housework had been completed, I have the rest of the day to myself, ‘ Bicester ‘here  I come .

I’ve been to Bicester before, but that was many years ago, when No 1 Son was still in nappies!  I’ve tried to revisit Bicester town centre, a number of times since then, however, never quite made it. I always seem to manage to get lost including the last time when using my satnav.

Today! Today was different, not only did I manage to find Bicester Town Centre, without getting lost or asking for directions, I managed to get home again, Woo Hoo!

 

Bicester Town Centre

Bicester Town Centre

From the depths of my memory Bicester hadn’t changed much, still the historic buildings encasing modern day chain stores.  Me, I prefer the independent shop, the one off’s, they offer so much more character and I’m never sure what I might uncover next.  Take for example the wool emporium; that I found situated on “Sheep Street” (the irony of it did make me chuckle).

Sheep Street, loads of woolly delight's

Sheep Street, loads of woolly delight’s

I also found a small, but well patronized Bakery/Cafe, the sign said they had been there since the 1930’s and where still supplying the locals with fresh bread and cakes every day.  First purchasing a small tin (bread) and a slice of bread pudding ready for this afternoon’s feet up and cup of tea, I headed out back to the cafe for a little lunch.

Nash Bakery

Nash Bakery

Photo 05-03-2013 11 04 17

I did do a bit more window shopping after lunch but most of the remaining shops were your ‘everyday chain stores’

Now Pub

The Old Post Office

Lovely large book shop with comfy chair

Lovely large book shop with comfy chair

Antic Shop, housed in two old cottages

Antic Shop, housed in two old cottages

Very clean street, all  empty properties, Someone is taking care of it!

Very clean street, all empty properties, Someone is taking care of it!

– I found a florists, but they didn’t seem to have a lot to offer, so my flowers this week were bought in Waitrose,

Waitrose Flowers

Waitrose Flowers

Photo 05-03-2013 16 22 13

and with a quick check up on our local antic shop I headed home with my newly purchased Afternoon tea set, to add to my already growing collection.

 

Photo 05-03-2013 15 51 34 Photo 05-03-2013 15 52 08

‘Order of the afternoon’ .

Make sure the new tea set works 🙂 then off to collect kids from school.

How’s your day going?

Sam xxx

5 thoughts on “Spring Day

Leave a Reply

