Deddington

Having had the freak blizzard Sunday, I didn’t fancy venturing too far out, so instead took the time to explore a more local village I travel through at least once a week.

Parking  in the market square, I set off on foot in search of a tea room (Foodies).  Settling down by the window, in ready anticipation of watching the world go by while I sup and munch on my tea room goodies.

The smell of the fresh coffee invites you in and the warm comfortable room that was once a family’s front room and is now the tea room; pulls you in just a little further.  Placing both hands around my steaming cup of hot chocolate and while I wait for my tea cake I take in the delights of the room, 6 covered tables each seating 4 and room still to move comfortably, the wall units display a small selection of goods for purchasing, Ice-cream, biscuits, preserves and bags of the local flour. If a visitor should require more I am reliable informed that you only have to take a step or two further down the hallway, where the shop is located.  I preferred however, to gaze out of the window and watch the folk of Deddington go by.  It seems a quite sort of village, but I do wonder if that is down to it being Monday. I notice the number of pubs within walking distance of each other, along with the co-op and the village post office.

Licking my sticky fingers from the melted butter covered tea cake, I slip on my jacket and head round the corner to the antic shop.  Very much like the tea room the shop is located in what was once a very grand village house.  Each room still in its original form, but instead of housing a family each room has its own treasures, all four floors of them.

I only spent a couple of hours in the village of Deddington before heading home, but time well spent all the same, and I managed to add another tea set to my collection.

4 thoughts on “Deddington

  1. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage?
    My website is in the exact same area of interest as
    yours and my visitors would really benefit from a lot of
    the information you provide here. Please let me know if this okay with you.
    Thanks!

    • Thank you for your comment, however, I tried to have a look at your blog and couldn’t as the link seemed broken. Please could you send me a link to your page. Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

