Day One

We have just finished watching “Hotel Marigold” if you haven’t seen it before the only thing I can suggest is you put it on your to do list. I can’t recommend it highly enough.  It’s a lovely story about a group of retired people who for one reason or another have found themselves moving out to India and living at the “Hotel Marigold” Life hasn’t turned out for any of them the way that they had hoped or wished and circumstances have offered them this opportunity. In true fairytales they give you a happy ending.

Judy Dench’s character is out in India on her own and spends some of her time writing a blog about her adventures.   My life has had a large change recently and not one of my choosing, I suppose you could say that I should have been prepared for it as I knew that it wasn’t going to be long, however, I’m not sure that you can truly prepare yourself for the death of a loved one.  You never really know how you’re going to react until that moment thrusts itself upon you.

So life has returned back to as much normal as you can have, Wednesday, was difficult, as it was the first Wednesday in about 6 months when I wasn’t rushing up to London to see my Dad and then rush back home before the end of play.  This Wednesday, I found myself doing the housework, and very slowly as well, you could say my heart just wasn’t in it. Instead I found myself sitting on the couch staring into space, pondering life and the universe, where do we go from here? What has life to offer, well of course you can’t really answer that question, Life is what it is, it’s what you do with it that matters the most.

I’ve treated myself to a new camera that I’ve wanted for along while, I’ve just got to get round to ordering it. I’ve still got my point and shoot, but this one is the next step up on my DSLR.  Canon 550D with extra lenses –I planning on using the new camera for more detailed work and not my everyday one.

The new bike that I want is still under full investigation, I’ve got an idea in my head, however, trying to find it is another matter, but I will still solider on. LOL

I’ve made contact with my Piano teacher, now all I need to do is arrange a lesson, but I’m going to do that once the kids return but to school after the school hols.

The CAL is slowly coming along, but steady steps get you to the finish line 😉

Today, we adventured out to Stratford upon Avon (Shakespeare Country), we didn’t do much, strolled along the waterside taking in our surroundings and enjoying the wonders of the market stalls showing off their wares. Stopped along the way at a couple of pubs to quench our thirst and soak up the wonderful summer sun, before returning home to a relaxing evening of TV watching and a family conversation we headed to the Toby for an afternoon of roast dinner.

Tomorrow, well Tomorrow is the first day of the rest of our lives and as such we plan to enjoy it as much as possible.

Day One!

Enjoy your week

Sam 🙂

8 thoughts on “Day One

  1. Pingback: Week 40: CAL Blocks #169 #173 #177 | The Little Room of Rachell

  2. I must try and watch Hotel Marigold, it sounds very interesting. It takes time to heal, so with time things will slowly improve for you until you will eventually just cherish the moments you spent with your Dad, even though he is not physically with you. Nobody ever truly forgets the death of a loved one, but things get better with time. I am happy you have a lot of things lined up and I wish you all the best in achieving them. Wish you a wonderful weekend. My thoughts are still with you! Liz

Leave a Reply

