The Snowman

Top of the morning to you all!!

Even though we live in the countryside we are not as rural as we might like.  We still have our Industrial park, the large shopping centre and the motorway 10 minutes down the road.  There is no quaint little coffee shop half hidden down some picturesque cobbled street for me to retreat to when you’ve got a spare hour to yourself.   Instead it’s off to the Costa coffee on the industrial park, where I order myself a dusty almond croissant, a medium latte served in a take away cup and then take a second or two to find my optimum sitting position.  All I require is a table for two, with my chair backed up against the wall, which enables me the chance to watch the world go by.  I can of course sit in other places, but it just doesn’t have the same feel and as soon as the coffee has been drunk I have to head off. So thankfully today that is not the case.  My chair is pressed against the wall my iPad is neatly positioned on the table ready for a 20 minute browsing on Pinterest before settling down to thinking about this week’s blog post.

 

Back in late October on one of my many trips to Hobbycraft I feel in love with a papier-mâché snowman.  He reminded me of a solider my mum use to put at the foot of our Christmas tree each year. Originally the solider was stuffed with sweets, but because he was so festive he came back each year.  But my snowman needed lots of love and time spent on him.

2013-11-08 15.08.12

I covered him in white acrylic paint as a base, but in the end ended up giving him 3 coats.

2013-11-13 11.44.21

Decopatched him a waistcoat, created a felt cover for his top hat and then painted the brightest carrot orange nose I could.

2013-11-29 16.11.11

Painted a black bow tie, gave him green buttons and found some googly eyes that I had, and for good measure I used a patch liner to give him the coal mouth.

2013-11-29 16.42.49

Gold braid around the edge of the waist coat, a thick red ribbon to trim the hat, then added mistletoe with berries for decoration, a smattering of white glitter for snow and then a few friends for company.

Then he was ready……….

2013-11-29 18.50.26

To join my Christmas window display.

2013-12-01 18.11.28

Well the day is ticking away from me and I v‘e so much more to-do, but first a few present’s to wrap.

2013-12-04 13.31.09

Speak soon.

Sam 🙂 x

4 thoughts on “The Snowman

Leave a Reply

